Tutorials

Reeds Fibrocell v Hartmann

I am a little confused and would appreciate any advice. I have been playing Fibrocell Reeds for at least three years, they are consistent and responsive and suit any environment.
I play professionally with Complete Madness and my horn really does get a lot of use/hammer/stick etc.
I find i develop tuning issues with the Fibrocell Reeds after around ten gigs, that equates to 15 hours plus playing. So basically i am using more than one reed a month.
I have recently purchased a Harry Hartmann Carbon Onyx ... it is a very smooth reed, a plastic feel... I have used it on four gigs, it is bang on tuning wise, just a little difficult to play at the moment.. a little less edgy than the Fibrocell...... I would just like some feedback from players out there that have used these reeds..... most player say that Fibrocell last months.... I find that mine do not..... why? What is the general opinion of Hartmann Reeds... I would like to try more however, they are expensive and could be an expensive piece of fun.
I am using a Vintage Lawton 8 Mouthpiece ........ thoughts please

Merryfisher

quite interested in this post - i have been on fibrocells for longer then i can remember. Recently out of curiousity i tried legere but like your experience with hartmann, i just found them less edgy, maybe even a little stuffy in comparison. I tried the black forestone synthetic reeds, they to me were a little thin sounding and a bit harsh. There seems to be such a variance in the reed strength comparisons, i have happily been on a fibracell 4 on my 9* jody giant garzone mpc which plays sweet as you like - it was a legere 3 i tried, and it just took so much effort to make anything half acceptable to my ears. But so many write ups just rave about them. It must be me.

guidocreo

After some test on Fibracell and Legere I play Harry Hartmann reeds since 2016; my preferred are the Fiberreed Carbon more than the Hemp.

OP
Willy the Pimp