All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Evening from the Isle of Wight

wren

Hi, I have just found this group as I have decided to get my saxophone out of storage and learn to play it properly! :)
I'm a bit of a collector as I also have two clarinets, a guitar, a penny whistle, a recorder, two ocarinas (bought for the children) and a flute! I can play the clarinets, recorder and penny whistle reasonably well, but I'm a total beginner on everything else.. I also have two small children, so not much time! Hubby has a really good ear and I'm trying to encourage him to learn the clarinet... (he can play guitar)

Justin Chune

Hello wren, welcome to the cafe. Learning the sax after the clarinet should be easy for you. Have fun.

Jim.

Jeanette

Organizress
Cafe Moderator
Welcome to the cafe Wren:)

I have many fond memories of the IOW

Jx

navarro

Hi wren, welcome to the cafe you will have great fun and lots of useful advice. Regds N.

wren

Thank you! Actually, I need some advice already! I got my sax out of its case and had a good look at it last night and the top two bigger pads have mould on them! Sob! I don't know how that happened, I always dry it really well after playing and put a sachet of those drying crystals in the sax when I put it away. My only thought is that the kids might have possibly spilt something in the case without me knowing as the nice padded neck strap is also missing from the case and I only have the not so nice one... Hmmm... So the question is, can I just clean the sax somehow and replace the two mouldy pads or do I need to replace all of them? And can I replace them myself or is it too fiddily?

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Hi from me too. Should be able to clean the pads with lighter fluid. Always a good idea to leave the case open to allow the sax to dry out completely. When you get the good strap back, don't hang the kids with it....

wren