Tutorials

Eric Marienthal Top 40 ballad

randulo

Playing saxophone 21 months - 2.4% of my life
Subscriber
We all know Eric's a great player. We often dismiss these commercial efforts as lowering to the public's level. The Latin Lover cover photo doesn't help! This tune is on the program of studies at AW and I gave it a glance just to see.

Sure enough, it's very hard to play mostly eight and quarter notes at a slow tempo and sound good!

This tune is a good study in sound, tone and the right mix of vibrato, bends, etc (IMO).
View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_FfPqhZtXA

OP
randulo

randulo

Subscriber
Agreed. I hear him with no track or effects in the lessons. I can play the first 11 measures of this tune flawlessly already.
Unclutter.jpg

BigMartin

I'm sure it's excellent playing, but I couldn't listen to it. I was reaching for the sick bucket after the 1st bar of the piano intro. It's the kind of thing that makes me glad I'm not a professional musician, so I don't have to spend my days doing that in order to eat. I know it's unfashionable to think like that these days but there it is.

OP
randulo

randulo

Subscriber
I'm sure it's excellent playing, but I couldn't listen to it. I was reaching for the sick bucket after the 1st bar of the piano intro. It's the kind of thing that makes me glad I'm not a professional musician, so I don't have to spend my days doing that in order to eat. I know it's unfashionable to think like that these days but there it is.
I do not mean this in any way to denigrate your opinion or your taste. My wife finds this boring, yet she likes Imagine. I'm not glued to this kind of piece for entertainment. However...
As someone who wants to play saxophone, here is why I posted this and why I am listening to it. By the way, there are a lot of YouTubes of pop songs like this done by guys in black sport coats who are decent players, but they are thousands of miles from this kind of nuanced level or mastery of the instrument.