All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Beginner Embouchure Modification?!

mangosax

Hello everyone! I am a newbie sax player and I will probably be posting here quite often, since I don't have the ability to get a sax teacher (I am a student in college, so it was either get the sax or get the lessons!) I believe I am making good progress, but I will post a question to be sure. embouchure

Recently I have discovered that I can play different pitches of notes if I tighten the pressure of my lower lip onto the reed, something which I think is called an overtone. On the other hand, If I want to play a lower note (like for playing the low Bb note) I have to lessen the pressure a bit or, most of the time, just change the air velocity.

Are these correct procedures or am I on the wrong track?

muzza

Welcome mangosax, often new members will post a note about themselves at "The Doorbell".

I am self taught, with the odd lesson from my sons teacher. From this experience, I would highly recommend finding an experience saxophone player or teacher that can give you the odd lesson. It helps a lot. I thought I was doing ok until my first lesson, which was spent doing longs tones working on my embouchure.

I've learnt sound comes from within you more than just pressure on the reed. It's how you breath, where you breath from, how you shape your mouth, tongue position... I still haven't got it mastered, so will not give advice. There are some very experience saxophone players and teachesr here that I'm sure will help.

Enjoy, it's a great journey learning to play the saxophone.

Last edited by a moderator:

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
There are two schools here.

1 Says pitch comes from keys, no variation in lips/embouchure between high and low notes
2 The other says it's ok to adjust pitch this way and it's necessary