All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Elastic Barrier

Mike

I've been practicing (again) lately, which is something that is extremely intermittent with me.
I don't know where inspiration comes from but I always act on it and unfortunately I'm a prisoner to it. For some reason playing the saxophone has been fun again. I think when it comes to saxophone playing I'm bi-polar. lol...
Either I love it or I hate it! There's never an in between.

I do practice playing the guitar everyday which I'm new at, and so far that hasn't weaned. So in between that I've picked up my horn again. Here is an improv I did and some of my timing still needs to be worked out but I was satisfied with the results after a weeks worth of blowing out some dust. What I mean is I'm not a truly proficient player even after all these years of stopping and going. I'm a wild/carefree type of player and feed off of whatever strikes my mind without concern for cohesion in the general sense.

It's a modal piece and I love modal work, or free work. Anything that allows the imagination to dabble.
I'm not a diatonic player and so I enjoy going anywhere my ear takes me. I'm going to try and keep at it some more because I think I can go in some areas I've never been to.
I hope some enjoy it.

Elastic Barrier
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_music.cfm?bandID=1176814

Chris

Well Known
Subscriber
I liked that Mike nice one...the change on the bass @3.00 kinda grabs you and when you drop the rhythm track and go solo, it still all hung together very well..Plus you where still in time when it all picked up later..The improv always sounded fresh and interesting. Minus points an irritating bleep in the backing track???;}

Chris..

Last edited by a moderator:

Clivey