All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians

Effects Pedals for Saxophones

Louis Doyle

Locality
Perth, Western Australia
Hello, I'm new to cafesaxophone and am interested to know if there is anyone who can help with this question.
I play Alto and Tenor but want to create a larger sound by including effect pedals. I am trying to sound like a couple of harmonising saxes.
I know that you can play through an octave pedal and also a harmoniser, but I found the harmoniser gave a metallic sound.
The pedals were a Boss OC-3 Octave Pedal and a Helicon Vocal Harmony Pedal. I also have a Boss VE-20 Vocal Processor.
The VE-20 is used for vocals. I want the 'effect' to sound like a sax not a metal robotic sound.
Is there a way around this?
thanks

A

Acc closed 6441

Maybe take a look here

Louis Doyle

Locality
Perth, Western Australia
Thanks. Most of the effects are pretty outrageous and not what I am looking for. All I want is a sound where I am playing my Tenor and the effect is that of another Tenor playing a third or a fifth. This is possible as I have tried a couple of harmony pedals but the sound is metallic not rich. I want to know if anyone has tried a pedal that gives the impression that it is another saxophone that is playing alongside. If yes, what is the model/make of the pedal.
The BOSS octave pedal is very good in reproduction but it would be nice to achieve a harmony on some backing.

Wade Cornell

Locality
New Zealand and Australia
Not sure how picky you are but I've been using a Digitech Vocal 300 for some years. It's programmable and has a pedal so the effect can be brought in and out slowly or quickly. Unfortunately it doesn't have many pedals so it's not possible to switch quickly from say from plaing with a third to a fifth instantly.

They are old technology, so cheap, if you can find one that's still working.

thomsax

Locality
Sweden