Percussion Drummers

filipe

I started by playing the drums and now I'm also addicted to sax (I'm dedicating around 80% to sax and 20% to drums on my music schedule).
So I wanted to see how many drummers that play sax are there and what do you apply from drumming onto sax and vice-versa.

For example: I started on drums, so I studied a lot of rhythm exercises, like rhythmic solfeggio, groove patterns, drum rudiments (playing around the duality of the left and right hands and/or feet), etc.

When I pick up the sax to do some practicing, I sometimes take phrases of the rhythmic solfeggio and improvise on a scale, using those rhythmic patterns. Or use a drum rudiment, like the "Paradiddle" (RLRR LRLL, R=right hand, L=left hand) and apply the right-left duality on the sax as different notes (for example, CGCC GCGG).

Overall, the drum training I have, tends to come in my mind, which gives me a different a different approach when playing sax, particularly in free improvising.

Mikec

I've always used a set of bongos to define and play around with rhythms, which I find very useful, but I have no training. I recently bought a cajon which is that packing-case shaped instrument you sit on and play, much used in flamenco. It has a large range of timbres and is less technically demanding than other percussion instruments (that's not to say that the cajon masters are not true masters, of course. The top players are as skilled as any others.).

www.cajondg.com

Chris98

Hi Filipe,

So you are a drummer, that's handy to know...

...I just happen to have a pair of bongos and was wondering if you could give me any advice on tuning them? I know the skins should be tensioned evenly by tightening across the diagonal but how tight should they be? What sort of tone difference should I hear between the small and large heads? Sorry for all the questions but I fear I will break the heads if I over tighten them.