All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

M/Pieces - Ligs does a lig make a difference or is it in my head...

eb424

Just bought an Ed pillinger mouthpiece bronzite for tenor sax i currently play a tj raw.. I really like the piece its dark but has some projection. In my head i have always found that the standard two nut type uf lig play easier for me than the single leather type. Could a lig or the loss (or addition) of a locking screw really make a difference. I'm still learning and seem to find bottom C and the pinky cluster notes are easier to hit with the 2 screw variety...

Wonko

I know that the general consensus is that the ligature makes no difference, or not much of a difference. My former teacher said that the public won't hear a difference but he notices a difference (some ligatures make it easier for him).Earlier this year I did the test here at home with the 2 ligatures that I have here.
1 screw metal ligature: sounded significantly brighter than the other
Rovner Star ligature: sounded darker/ warmer
My wife (who plays the guitar) confirmed my findings.
I play tenor, and use a Otto link HR mouthpiece on a Yamaha YTS32.
This is of course just 1 test, but for me, it does maken some difference.

eb424

Thanks wonko i do for some reason agree the two screwed types seem an easier blow.. dont know if its because you can adjust both screws or the placement of the screw on the reed... it wasnt so much the effect on tone..

Adrian63

I honestly don't know is the answer : but a little food for thought ?
If it absolutely makes no difference then why do most of us spend fifty quid on one instead of using one of the many two screws we have in the box....

nigeld

I don't need another mouthpiece; but . . .
Subscriber
For some people, the ligature doesn't seem to make a difference, but it matters quite a lot to me.