All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Digital Photography Advice needed...

Jules

Formerly known as "nachoman"
I know there are plenty of photographers on this site- a bit of advice please. My wife's recently got hold of a Canon EOS camera for work purposes- first download of images onto the PC importer them as RAW images- which, by default don't seem to be viewable in either Photoshop or any of the default Windows viewer. First question- I suggested changing the camera's default format to jpeg- I was told this wasn't acceptable as it reduced the quality too much (can anyone confirm or deny?). Secondly- if stuck with RAW format, what’s the best set up for viewing and editing RAWs?
Thanks

Young Col

Jules
My sons use Canon EOS cameras at work for their website images. One of their staff is a part time pro photographer. I've asked them your questions.
YC

dave 645

As far as I know, and I'm not a pro, the RAW images contain a lot more information and therefore need more memory space. They enable a greater deal of enhancement to be done, but to the untrained eye jpeg and RAW image will be very similar. I always use jpeg files as the memory demands are much smaller, and to me there is no visual difference. BUT I COULD BE TALKING COMPLETE RUBBISH, I read a couple of books a long time ago!

Gallen

RAW VS Jpeg, ah the endless debate.
For me the choice is simple - RAW. Mainly because I do alot of flash photography with gels, and want maximum control of my white balance in post.

Think of RAW as a mix in a daw, where you still have control over each track, the ability to apply EQ just to the alto track or a bit of delay on the sop track.

JPEG is like the final mixdown, a single mp3 file, compressed. Uh, no thanks.

That said, there are many professionals who understand exposure, white balance, flash and have a perfectly fine workflow with jpeg. So...