All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Saxophones Counterfeit (?) yani on eBay

NicholasCBV

This just popped up on my eBay search (the hunt for a sop is on). I’m 100% certain it’s a fake and I won’t be going anywhere near it, but I thought I’d share it with you for general interest: eBay Listing

The biggest tragedy is that one poor soul has jumped onto it straight away, probably thinking that they’ve got the deal of a lifetime. As with all counterfeits, the issue is that every time they are sold on, they gain a little more history and stronger provenance, and unless one has the technical knowledge of the brand/instrument to spot the differences, an unsuspecting buyer could pay huge money for a substandard horn.

I’m very new in rejoining the game, but with all of the secondhand horns I’ve looked at, I’ve done a reasonable amount of research to double-check their authenticity, including with my tenor, comparing photos with other versions and getting in touch with the maker to check the serials. Are there any other top tips I should consider?

Here are the photos in case it disappears:
8FE41CB0-F2DE-4D92-8254-849124DFF02C.png
5BE1C725-962B-4128-BB1C-C39165F1B799.png

nigeld

I don't need another mouthpiece; but . . .
Subscriber
The white gloves are a bit of a giveaway.

nigeld

Subscriber
Are there any other top tips I should consider?
"Unwanted gift"
"Cash only"
"I know nothing about it"
are warning signs.

Anybody putting up a solid silver Yani for sale would at least have checked the retail price.
(Although the original retail price for that particular sax was probably about £250.)

Also if you ask if you can come and try it and it turns out that it is currently on a Scottish island. (Applies particularly to Mk VI's).

OP
NicholasCBV

NicholasCBV

"Unwanted gift"
"Cash only"
"I know nothing about it"
are warning signs.

Anybody putting up a solid silver Yani for sale would at least have checked the retail price.