All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

M/Pieces - Ligs Conn 10m tenor mouthpiece

honkywonk

Hi ... I'm a newb around here. I was recommended to join the forum and pose this question by Stephen (shwoodwind.co.uk)

I have a 1957 model Conn 10m ... without rolled tone holes. It's a great horn with a big sound ... it has a power and ease of blowing that my friends don't come anywhere near to matching on their various horns (such as Selmer Mk. VI, Selmer Mk. VII, SML w. rolled tone holes, and various Yamahas).

I play right now on a Vandoren "Java" (not Jumbo Java) hard rubber 'piece that matches the horn well in terms of having good pitch, blowing easily and freely through the entire range from low Bb to high F. I play it in an R&B band but this setup also has a clear, spit-free tone and super-flexible dynamics which would be perfect for playing "legit" music such as classical repertoire or concert band. I suppose it's like a Selmer C* but with more OOOMPH. I don't know much about acoustics but I attribute this to the mouthpiece's large bore (matching the horn) and round chamber. The tip opening is a "medium" T75 (0.104 inch) and I use Vandoren Java reeds around 2-1/2 strength. Not too open and not too hard.

The setup has two drawbacks however. The tone is rather "un-tenor-like" in that it's missing that slightly hissy warmth that people associate with, say, Pink Panther.