Tutorials

classical music for kids

Jules

Formerly known as "nachoman"
I'm trying to collect a couple CD's worth of kiddie friendly classical music for my sproglet. I'm looking for stuff which (hm, how do I describe it...?) is lively & 'visual'. Pieces that we can spin a good story from on car journeys- in a Fantasia sort of way.
Any ideas? I'm no expert in classical repertoire....

chadders

Subscriber
These might fit the bill as well

Peter and the wolf - Prokofiev
Lieutenant Kije - Profofiev
The young persons guide to the orchestra - Benjamin Britten
The Hebrides - Mendelsohn
Carnival of the Animals - Saint Saens
Carmen Overture Bizet

Chad

jonf

But why?

Chadders' list is spot on, but I have to ask, why classical? My two like a bit of BBVD, Brian Setzer, Illinois Jaquet and Pete Thomas. A bit more lively for the adults.

Alternatively, if you just want to keep a kid subdued and content on a very long journey, there's nothing to beat an in car DVD player. Works for mine on the epic journey up to the frozen North to see my parents. They only cost about £100 these days as well.

losaavedra

There's quite a lot of Victor Borge on YouTube, both extremely funny and at the same time highly proficient. As a kid myself once (a very long time ago!) exposure to VB revealed to me the joy and potential humour of music ... not just something played by old people dressed in weird clothes. As a child I remember there was an LP of his that went through all the instruments of an orchestra in a humorous way. Brilliant stuff.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
Jules

Jules

Formerly known as "nachoman"
Chadders' list is spot on, but I have to ask, why classical? My two like a bit of BBVD, Brian Setzer, Illinois Jaquet and Pete Thomas. A bit more lively for the adults.