All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Reeds Cane vs synthetic

saxyjt

I have saxophone withdrawal symptoms
Subscriber
I can't say that I'm an expert in synthetic reeds. I only really used Légère Signature reeds and almost none other. But I was so convinced by them on both tenor and baritone that I thought that was it. No more cane. Légère all the way. But being honest, I never really felt so comfortable with them on alto or soprano. So I tried cane again in soprano recently and felt better.

Today, after playing my usual tenor Légère Signature Reed I thought I should try cane again, after a very long time ignoring them. At least 6 months. And although it required finding the right one, I enjoyed playing cane again. It's a bit tricky with some mouthpieces but then it revealed some mouthpieces that I had set aside playing them with my Légère.

Si, I'm certainly not giving up on Légère. They served me really well I've the last few months, but I'm tempted to give cane another chance.

Reeds can (not necessarily cane) make a world of difference.

So long life to cane reeds!

After all, they are the original tech that give woodwinds their name. Can you imagine calling our horns synthetic winds?

jbtsax

Subscriber
Maybe the "Vibrato Sax" and "Grafton" should be called plastic winds. What about flutes and saxophones. They are not made of wood. The flute doesn't use a reed---wood or otherwise. Brass instruments are commonly called "brass winds" because of the material they are made from. Why aren't saxophones? Hard rubber clarinets could be called "ebonite winds". I'm going to stop now because I'm even starting to confuse myself. :)

GCinCT

Seeker of truth and beauty
Subscriber
Now there are plastic brass winds the pbone, ptrumpet, pCornet. Plastic euphoniums and tubas. The whole world of music no longer makes sense.

CliveMA