All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Saxophones Buffet Super Dynaction Tenor Sax

naverwater

Does anyone have any familiarity or opinions on a Buffet Super Dynaction Saxophone. I recently received one and don't know a whole lot about it or what it may be worth. Any thoughts? It is serial number 16228 and was customized by Ted Talley and Bob Hale. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

photo (2).jpg photo.jpg

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Do you have the neck?

Buffet Crampon was/is a big french instrument manufacturer. The SDA was one of their best models and well thought of by many.

Assuming there's a mouthpiece as well, it'd be worth checking out what it is. These vintage saxes often come with a good mouthpiece that's still in demand today.

What do you mean by customised?

MMM

There's a couple on ebay at the moment, to give you an idea of value.
I have been playing an SDA alto for the last 10 years and it's a very well built saxophone with it's own voice, wish I could try a tenor!

Hope you put it to good use (BTW, never seen a silver plated one like yours, maybe a custom job?).
Cheers,
M.

naverwater

Do you have the neck?

Buffet Crampon was/is a big french instrument manufacturer. The SDA was one of their best models and well thought of by many.

Assuming there's a mouthpiece as well, it'd be worth checking out what it is. These vintage saxes often come with a good mouthpiece that's still in demand today.

What do you mean by customised?

I do have the original neck that does not use cork but instead a rubber o-rings to hold the mouthpiece to the neck.

The customization looks to be in the silver color and with the inlays. I have not seen a silver one similar to this yet and has some (possibly?) custom stone work in the keys.

Do you think these things may increase the value or just additional features that don't have much of an impact on the value?

TomMapfumo