Breaking a bad habit

Keep Blowing

Commercial Café Supporter
I have been playing on and off for many years, and just come to realise or maybe just accepted, i have a really bad habit of tightening my embouchure when playing in the higher register.

Does anyone have any tips on how to break this habit, or can anyone recommend any exercises that may help.

Many thanks
Russ

Phil

I have not tried it but some have suggested a really light setup so it closes up if you tense up.

It makes sense to me because when I play test really small tips I have to pay close attention or everything comes to screeching halt with normal strength reeds.

OP
Keep Blowing

Keep Blowing

I have not tried it but some have suggested a really light setup so it closes up if you tense up.

It makes sense to me because when I play test really small tips I have to pay close attention or everything comes to screeching halt with normal strength reeds.
Thanks @Phil i will give it a go, i do struggle to play small tip openings so there may be something in that

thomsax

i have a really bad habit of tightening my embouchure when playing in the higher register.
Goes for me to. I can't go from B2 to F#3 and really honk the note without tighening my embouchure. No big deal for me. I learned how to deal with it and I practice to make it happen. Is it possible to play the high tones (loud) without tightening your embouchure?

OP
Keep Blowing

Keep Blowing

Goes for me to. I can't go from B2 to F#3 and really honk the note without tighening my embouchure. No big deal for me. I learned how to deal with it and I practice to make it happen. Is it possible to play the high tones (loud) without tightening your embouchure?
i need to tighten my embouchure to play the high notes loud.

Veggie Dave

Sax Worker
Same here. I haven't played a sax yet, though, that isn't flat if I don't. :confused2: