All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

BOTM December 2017 - Soul Eyes

Janosax

Hello,

I've got the pleasure to share with you the ballad of this month: "Soul Eyes".

The most representative interpretation IMO is Trane's one:

It was really one of my favorite ballad in my sax beginning.

Don't hesitate to share other versions you like.

I've done my own backing track with BandInABox and Sampletank with added reverb and mastering treatment.

You can download it at this link: Soul eyes backing track.m4a

Listenable on soundcloud too:

DeadAudiolink Removed

You can listen at this link to my "first of this month" version of Soul Eyes theme (recorded today):

https://soundcloud.com/user-970258578%2Fsoul-eyes-theme-one

No improvisation yet, I studied jazz in my younger age, but I haven't improvised on jazz chords structures in more than 12 years. I essentially play on my own tunes with are much more simpler harmonically. So it will be a challenge for me too.

I plan to study all Soul Eyes chords all along the month, and like you I will post my theme interpretation/improvisation versions and hope for some progression.

I will post ASAP all scales/chords playable on this ballad, this helps I think.

About Soul Eyes theme, as it's a ballad don't focalise on written rythm figures and feel free to give your own interpretation.

I'll do my best to host this BOTM, and now let's go.... share your sax tracks!!!

Note: I will post ASAP my own scores too in Bb and Eb.

Last edited:

Janosax

Glad you like this ballad :)

So I've done my own backing track with BandInABox and Sampletank with added reverb and mastering treatment.

You can download it at this link, first post is updated:

Soul eyes backing track.m4a

Listenable on soundcloud too:

I will post ASAP my own scores too in Bb and Eb. This take me some hours to do that, I hope some members will attempt to record themselves on Soul Eyes ;)

Last edited:

rhysonsax