All fees from subs and sales are given to special needs music education charities
ArtistWorks

Reeds Best way to fix Alto sax reeds?

Classicalsax292

Hello, I've been playing the alto saxophone for roughly 4 years now, and recently I've run into a problem with my reeds. A lot of them sound spitty and somewhat airy when I play them, and many are hard to play even though I'm only using a size 3 reed. Any advice would be helpful. I have a reed geek reed filer, but I don't know exactly how to use it to effectively improve my reeds (advice there would also be helpful). For reference, I use Vandoren blue box size 3's, and also Vandoren java green size 3.5. I play on a Vandoren optimum al5 mouthpiece typically, but I use a Vandoren Java a55 mouthpiece when I play jazz.

jbtsax

Subscriber
"The Art of Saxophone Playing" by Larry Teal contains a chapter on reeds. On pp. 28-29 there is an illustration and instructions on where to "scrape" a reed in order to effect specific changes. There are other reed books and instructions out there, but this would be a good place to start.

randulo

Playing alto 25 months
Subscriber
"The Art of Saxophone Playing" by Larry Teal contains a chapter on reeds.
Thanks for that reference. I just looked at it and find it 100% incomprehensible!
1. What is the "stock end" of the reed? The vamp?
2. Put the bad reed away for at least a year?
I wouldn't normally follow a topic like this, but just this week I opened two new reeds and they both play really hard and sound bad. I put my current favorite on, same exact brand and type, and it sounds exactly as it should. Am I just unlucky? I'm tempted to open a third one. If it's bad, maybe the whole box is bad? It came from Thomann, it's Vandoren Blue 2.5.

nigeld

I don't need another mouthpiece; but . . .
Subscriber