All fees from subs and sales are supporting musicians suffering hardship due to COVID-19
SYOS

M/Pieces - Ligs Berg Larsen mouthpiece identification

peteretep

Hello everyone, first post here.
A friend recently gave me an old mouthpiece she had lying around and I'm trying to identify what it is.
On the top side it says "Berg Larson Reg Design 851427/8". On the other side it says 80.
I can't see any 80 tenor mouthpieces on the Berg Larsen site.
I'm a relatively new player, and I play a Yamaha mouthpiece at the moment. I like playing this one, but it's not quite the sound I'm after - too loud and brash. I'd like to figure out what it is, so I can use it as a bench mark when looking for other mouthpieces.
Thanks!
Peter

Phil

Commercial Café Supporter
I think thats a vintage "Boat table Berg" which is worth a pretty penny.

Im not a vintage expert on bergs but I think that is what it is.

If Im right thats a 300 dollar plus "old laying around mpc".

If she is giving more away Im willing.

rhysonsax

On the shank it should say something like "95/2" and "SMS". Is that where the figure "80" appears and what else is marked there ?

The Berg Larsen site explains what those markings mean Berg Larsen | How to Choose As you say, there tenors start at 90 ( 0.090" tip opening) but I believe they used to make specials of different sizes.

It looks like a nice old Berg Larsen from the 50s, but could be as early as 40s and as late as the 60s.

More historical information on Berg larsen models etc. here: Berg Larsen Mouthpieces | Theo Wanne

Rhys

David Roach

Subscriber
I have one of these too. I got it with a gift of a Martin tenor from a friend whose Dad led dance bands in the 40s and 50s. It's a real goer!