All profit supporting   special needs music

Beginner

sirforson

Locality
USA
Hello All,
I am a beginner, just bought a tenor sax. Any advice as to practice sessions, techniques would be welcome.
Thanks

tatooandy67

Locality
Birmingham U.K.
Hi, when I first started learning the sax I found a book called a tune a day to be very helpful, also practicing scales daily really helped me learn to play the notes and helped with my tone, if you’re able to then a few lessons at the beginning will be really helpful to get you started on the right path

nigeld

Too many mouthpieces
Café Supporter
Locality
Bristol, UK
Welcome to the Café and to the saxophone.

I think having a teacher helps a lot, especially at the beginning.

D

Deleted member 6182

Hi & welcome - i remember my 1st sax lesson. Blow into the sax, dont play a note, just listen to the sound of air loudly moving through the whole body of the sax, in a nice even flow.....the other thing i remember, when i 1st blew a B note, i couldn’t hold it for a count of 4 lol

Last edited by a moderator:

Wade Cornell

Locality
New Zealand and Australia