support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Beginner soprano using multiple mouthpieces: good or bad idea?

Miles Green

Hello,
I've been playing the soprano for 6 months now, on a regular daily basis. I have 2 mouthpieces, one classical (a Rousseau New Classic #3 opening) and one jazzy: a Selmer Super Session F. It's been fun playing a bit of both, I use the classical one for exercises, scales, and classical music, and the prefer the Super Session for pretty much anything else. I play them with different reeds btw, Vandoren blue box #2.5 or #3 for the classic, and Rico Select Jazz 2H for the Super Session.
But is it a good idea to be playing with 2 different mouthpieces at early learning stages? I'm wondering it will speed up or hamper the learning process? Am i more or less likely to develop bad habits regarding embouchure?
Many thanks!
Miles

Unless you are the exception, a solid foundation in tone production skills including embouchure control does not happen in just 6 months time in my experience. The test is if you can play from low Bb to high F at all dynamic levels with good control and pitch. When you can do that on one mouthpiece, then you are ready to move on to other set ups IMO.

I think the answer is ...it depends.

For some people it may be fine, for others it may not be.

You will learn possibly about being flexible, but some might say you should not do that until you get a good solid embouchure, and what jay says is correct.

Some people adapt better to change than others.