Taming The Saxophone

Bass Clarinetist looking to move to the sax side

Jen B

Subscriber
Hi - I'm an adult beginner and hoping you can tell me that grade 3 Bass Clarinet 25 years ago will stand me in reasonable stead?!:eek: I used to play a teeny bit but have decided as per the quote in Jeanette's profile that the time will pass anyway so I should playing again NOW rather than waiting on some mythical 'perfect' moment.

I have a bass clarinet and a regular clarinet and am in the process of borrowing an alto off a friend - she doesn't play anymore - but she describes it as 'wrong -slung' which has me confused.
I did have a 20's silver C melody - and might re-acquire that... but my true love at least in terms of sound is the bari. Sadly I don't have a helpful friend to lend me one of those!
I've started working through an old Boosey and Hawkes clarinet book and can still do a chromatic scale without too much squonking so I guess I practice and save up for a baritone...my children don't need shoes right?! mummy needs to sound like Leo P!

nigeld

I think I need a different mouthpiece
Subscriber
Welcome to the Café.
Bari Saxes are great fun. A noble ambition.

Unfortunately, as you will have realised, they are also expensive. But there are some Chinese ones that don't require the purchaser to get a mortgage (or at least, not so large a mortgage). I haven't tried one, so I don't know how good they are, but Headwind in Bristol sees to be selling a lot of theirs.
Zetland Baritone Saxophone

If you want to be like Leo P, you will need to practice your dance moves as well as your scales. :happydance:

Keep Blowing

Commercial Subscriber
Hi - I'm an adult beginner and hoping you can tell me that grade 3 Bass Clarinet 25 years ago will stand me in reasonable stead?!:eek: I used to play a teeny bit but have decided as per the quote in Jeanette's profile that the time will pass anyway so I should playing again NOW rather than waiting on some mythical 'perfect' moment.