support Tone without tears Beginners' impro Patterns & exercises

Tone Another Embouchure Question (sorry, not sorry)

IGoddard

I know embouchure threads come up quite frequently so I will firstly apologise for the lack originality in this post. Though I hope this has a slightly different angle from most.

Back story. I've been playing my tenor sax for about 12 months now - I previously played for a couple of years before this but had a 4 year break. Previous years were very much directionless self learning with no significant improvement made. Over the last 12 months I've made great progress, I've gone from having a theoretical understanding of music to applying it in practise for the first time. I'm following the ABRSM grades for a bit of structure to my practising and am now almost ready to submit my pieces for grade 4.

In between practising what my teacher provides, I like to follow some youtube channels for inspiration on improving tone - and this is something I've been focussing on quite heavily the last 4-6 weeks or so. I have a 20 min tonal improvement method that I follow most days and I think it's helping quite significantly, particularly with upper register tuning. I've noticed recently that as my facial muscles are presumably getting stronger, my lower mid range notes (particularly F-C#) are looking quite flat on the tuner (~5-12 cents). I can bring these notes back up by pinch my embouchure from the sides but it feels quite unnatural to hold for any significant duration of time and without remaining consciously aware of it, it does tend to leader to the upper notes (octave G+) becoming sharp.

So my double barrel question is this:
Is this a sign I need to change my embouchure or is this a sign I need change my setup?
How do you know when you are ready to make a change to your setup, whether that's a new mouthpiece or stiffer reed? What are the tell tale signs to look out for?