All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Android Phones...

Jules

Formerly known as "nachoman"
My phone’s croaked and I’m feeling like acquiring a new piece of gadgetry to play with. Can anyone recommend a decent Android based phone &, linked to that, any tips for handy apps for music work (or anything otherwise genuinely useful for that matter). I suppose mic quality is going to be an issue between different models/ brands..(?)

Taz

Busking Oracle
Jules I'm very new to the world of smart phones, but I've just got a Samsung Galaxy S2 and I'm very happy with it so far.
I haven't really looked into apps yet, but I did find the usual tuners, synths and harmony type things. I need to play with it more, but in my opinion it's a great phone. Oh and its bloomin fast with a great screen too. I had a touch screen Samsung before and although I never used a case and kept it in my pocket with keys and change, the screen never got marked!

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
The kids are really happy with their Samsungs, but neither of them is Android. My wife and I are still using N o k i a s, but we're so tired of the updates that stuff things up that we won't be buying N o k i a again. Android/Samsung would be my starting point to check out.

llamedos

Don't know if it will be any help as I have no direct experience but one of my sons is on his third Samsung Galaxy and also has a couple of other Android gadgets. If he wants to play music to listen to meaningfully he seems to have to use plug-in portable speakers and he tells me that by and large you get what you pay for. He has a thing called an Archos with something in excess of 8000 tracks so he seems to take it quite seriously. Apparently the built-in speakers are minute (unsurprisingly) and don't, therefore, have a great deal of welly.

Dave.

trimmy

One day i will...