All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Beginner Sax Alto versus Tenor

_Dan_

I'm a complete saxophone novice. My experience is limited to 1 brief lesson (with an alto sax) and 1/2 hour or so trying a few altos and tenors in a shop a few months ago. My plan was to visit again to try to make a decision on a) alto or tenor and b) which instrument. As things stand I really can't chose between alto or tenor and without trying some more, it seems an impossible task. Picking a particular instrument will perhaps be easier and I'll likely plump for a 280 Yamaha of whichever type I decide on. Mainly as it seems a 'safe' bet and should have good resale value if/when I chose to upgrade (or give up). I did consider renting thinking I could try 6 months or one then 6 months of the other before deciding and buying. But that really just seems like I'd be wasting time I could use to get better at playing just one instrument - something that likely to be hard enough as it is!

The current situation has clearly made it impossible to try more out, but has also got me keener than ever to get an instrument so that I can start making more production use of more time spent at home.

My interests are very much jazz but not specially towards tenor or alto; I listen to, and love, lots of music featuring both. I'm also in my 40's and pretty tall and so the size differences - and weight too, I guess - shouldn't really matter.

I realise that in many ways this is a subjective thing but I thought I'd ask anyway… to see if it's possible to better understand the practical differences to see if that helps me chose…

What sort of differences are there between alto and tenor; is one (generally) considered easier to play/learn to play, for example.
I think I read somewhere that the tenor can be easier to play in tune (something which might be useful for me as I don't have a great ear!).