Fingering Charts

Basic Fingering charts (no sharps or flats)

First we have a couple of very basic fingering charts which show you the saxophone fingerings for the lower and upper register in the key of C. These are ideal for absolute beginners who don’t want to be overwhelmed by the entire chart of all fingerings.

Of course, because the saxophone is a transposing instrument, the same fingering chart applies whether you play soprano, alto, baritone or tenor saxophone.

After that we have charts for the other notes. On this page I have only included the most common fingerings and a couple of alternative fingerings for the standard range.

The fingerings here are good for beginners to learn, but there are some more alternative fingerings. On this page we only show the standard range of the saxophone (up to F on older instruments and up to F# on many newer ones) but we also have a chart of fingerings for the extended (altissimo range)

Lower Register

low register saxophone fingering chart
Lower register key of C

Upper Register

(The octave key is the immediately above the left hand thumb rest)

upper register saxophone fingering chart
Upper register key of C

First steps: Basic Fingering charts (with all sharps and flats)

Here we have all the notes of the lower and upper registers including the sharps and flats (AKA the chromatic scale)

In some cases alternative fingerings are shown. The first one in each case can be considered the “regular” fingering.

Lower Register

low register chromatic saxophone fingering chart
Lower register chromatic

Upper Register

upper register chromatic saxophone fingering chart
Upper register chromatic

As you get more advanced: The bottom and Top Notes

bottom and top notes saxophone fingering chart
Bottom and top notes

Share:

Sponsored ads

Did you enjoy this article? Please consider donating. All donations to charity Currently: £97500 so far! – INFO

22 thoughts on “Fingering Charts”