support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Ligatures Alto Ligatures

arock

What is the difference between a $7 U.S. ligature and a $150 U.S. ligature? My new Otto Link hard rubber came with a cheap looking one but I am sure Otto Link feels it will do the job.

Sorry I missed the prior coverage. Thanks for the links.
My take here is the if I am a beginner, I might not notice much, if any difference. Better to spend the money on more lessons.
All advice is appreciated at my level.
Thanks.

What is the difference between a $7 U.S. ligature and a $150 U.S. ligature? My new Otto Link hard rubber came with a cheap looking one but I am sure Otto Link feels it will do the job.

Its a challenge to find a $150 alto ligature, but there are two over $100 here: http://sax-ccessories.com/homes/category/34/ALTO_SAX . There are also many that are a lot cheaper, though!

Otto Link mouthpieces can lack consistency in manufacture and $7 will not necessarily provide a very good ligature. Many folks can notice a difference sound and feel wise, even at beginner level, but $150 is rather expensive for a decent one!

I find it hard to believe that a beginner has the sensitivity to detect subtle differences in ligatures. They are still in the stage that when something changes in the sound, they don't know whether it is them or the instrument.

Speaking as an ex beginner I have noticed such differences quite clearly between my first Rovner Dark ligature and a Rico H ligature I acquired a few weeks later. I am sure that many beginners have normal hearing and can recognise different sounds - my wife could tell the difference and she does not even play a sax.

Maybe the differences are not that subtle for some people, but most folks hearing is pretty normal, and does seem better the less exposure to loud music.

Last edited by a moderator: