All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Almost 40 and starting over again...

VirusKiller

Hi everybody,

Well, I turn 40 just before Xmas and have, for the time being at least, got the bug again after an absence of twenty-odd years. I started learning the sax by myself in my late teens and probably got to what would be described as "intermediate" level. My problem has always been that I'm not very good at concentrating on a single thing and taking it to a high level. There's always a distraction...

I was always pretty musical at school and between the ages of nine and thirteen, under the tutelage of a rather scary witch-like music teacher, reached quite an advanced level with the recorder. I played the bass recorder in the school ensemble and, once I moved on to my next school, graduated to the oboe at the witch's suggestion, with an eye to eventually moving on to the bassoon. Unfortunately, I couldn't stand my new teacher, didn't enjoy playing in a very boring (and poor) orchestra and, frankly, neither the oboe nor the bassoon were particularly sexy.

My parents bought me a Yamaha YAS-62 alto in the late 80s. I remember going with my Dad to Howarths in London (I found the receipt recently) and trying lots of the shiny horns on show. The one I really wanted was a Yanagisawa that was way too expensive, but I didn't do too badly in the end. With hindsight, I think my folks were nuts to spend so much on my first sax; I doubt that they could really have afforded it either, but I guess they love me. :)