All fees from subs and sales are supporting musicians suffering hardship due to COVID-19

Accessories Aerophone (or EWI)

Miles Green

Hello,

I've been playing the soprano for a little over a year. I'm hooked and play 2-3 hours daily. However this summer i will not be able to create my usual daily cacophony, as i'll be staying in a holiday resort and don't want all the guests to run away....

So i'm considering a Roland aerophone for practice, probably the AE-5. Or an EWI, whatever you recommend. The fingering looks similar, as does the mouthpiece... Is this a good idea, or is it more likely to mess up my embouchure, breathing and fingering? I'm not an absolute beginner any more, optimistically at the early stages of being an intermediate player,

Thinking beyond practice, is there one that sounds more like a sax than others? I'm not a fan of the synthesizer sounds...

Many thanks!

Droptical

Hi Miles,

I picked up a Aerofone AE-05 for similar reasons to the ones you outline. I find it also lets me get some sneaky practice in when I have a free 5-10mins at home, when I probably wouldn't have time to go and play a real horn.

It obviously isn't going to help you form or keep embouchure, voicing, or breath support, but it will help with getting fingerings/scales/patterns/tunes down.

The mouthpiece feels very similar, the "reed" is present although doesn't vibrate
There is a setting which will allow you to pitch bend downwards by relaxing bite/upwards embouchure pressure, I disabled this as I was worried about training myself to bite.

I found the aerophone less forgiving than a real horn with respect to the keys - the aerophone keys click on/off - this means timing issues between "tounging" a note and having the fingering in place can cause a few wrong notes, but actually this is probably a nice feature for helping to get more accuracy and "positive" pressing of the keys. (There's also an adjustment in the app which makes it more forgiving.)