All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

M/Pieces - Ligs Advice on metal mouthpieces, I have no idea!

Usernam3

I'm looking for a starter budget (I'm a student!) metal alto sax mouthpiece. I was looking around a little, but have no idea what to go for! I have no idea about sizes, what type of metal, etc... I just want something to start with, that sounds more jazzy and bright than the ebonite one I have now. I'm playing an alto, Yanagisawa A901B.

All help/advice greatly appreciated!

BigMartin

Since no-one has replied yet, I'll just say that the brightness (in sound ;}) of a mouthpiece has more to do with it's shape than the material it's made from. Others here can give you better advice on specific models than I can, but don't restrict your search to metal. There are some surprisingly good cheap plastic mouthpieces out there (I use them on all my horns, though I'm not sure if that's much of a recommendation!). Rico Metallites come to mind but, like I say, others here know much more than me.

Usernam3

Thanks for the reply BigMartin. I'll have a look around for plastic ones then. I'm getting slightly bored of my current one, and fancy a change in sound!

RMorgan

Hey mate,

There´s scientific evidence pointing that the mouthpiece material doesn´t influence the sound, so it´s more about the size of the tip, size of the chamber, facing, the shape and size of the bore, etc...

If you want something cheap, you should check the metallite. I have one for alto and it´s pretty jazzy and bright. However, make sure you try one before you buy.

Cheers,

Raf.

breathless

I find this subject objective! (sorry to throw a spanner in the works) however I have spent over 25 years as an engineer in both the electronic and mechanical spectrum including qualifications in radio technology!