Beginner Absolute Beginner book recommendations

Tasjii

Locality
Dorchester, Dorset
Hi All,

Well my sax (Yamaha YAS 280) arrived from UK Sax Hire on Friday afternoon so I've had her for a whole 2 days now and I have been having a go on my own. I am a complete beginner, never played an instrument in my life and I understand a little music theory, as we did that at school way back when, but can't say I know how to read sheet music. I am trying to sort out some proper lessons but waiting to hear back from a potential tutor.

So my questions is whether anyone can recommend any good beginner books out there that will help me learn?

I have "Practical Hints on Playing the Alto Saxophone" by Eugene Rousseau on order as that one was recommended to me on another thread.

Thanks

Not sure I'd bother with a dedicated beginners book tbh, that basic information (fingering charts etc) is just too easily available on the web nowadays, here and YouTube amongst others.

Definitely get the 3 Taming the Sax volumes from here/tamingthesax site. These will be good for learning, but will also take you way off into the improver/intermediate level too.

Get a teacher.

Play, record, work out what you did wrong, play again (no 'expensive' equipment needed, all my recordings are done with a cheap £15 Chinese mike from eBay and a free download of audacity (many people prefer a different program).

Decide what your aims are, e.g. playing for pleasure, to join a band, to take formal 'grades', the basics are the same, but the route may be slightly different.

Soon as you can string a few notes together, go to the 'Your Sounclips' area on here and start posting, there's a dedicated 'beginners' section, along with the regular Song of the Month and Ballad of the Month. They may seem a way off at the moment, but with reasonable practice 3-4 times a week, you should be starting posting with a few months (that's the BOTM/SOTM, the beginners areas you can post in tomorrow)