support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Reeds Vandoren V16 (Tenor) - 3

Veggie Dave

Sax Worker
I've been playing Vandoren's V16 2 1/2 tenor reeds for a few months now and, for the most part, have really liked them. However, after discussing a few playing issues I have on here I decided to go up to a 3.

I must say that I like the extra control I now have but the extra resistance these things produce is unbelievable. At first I thought I'd left something in the bell! I do like to be a little exuberant when I play but after 30 minutes I feel like I've run up a mountain and I'm starting to look like Dizzy Gillespie. ;) The jump from 2 1/2 to 3 has also had a very noticeable affect on the higher tones (rather than notes) as well - unless you play really hard they're not there. This makes the combination of Metalite M7, which doesn't have much tone outside of the high range, and these reeds a little soulless.

It would appear that I'll be buying another, different, box of reeds very shortly...

I need a soundproof room! It's far too late to start blaring away on the sax but having read and watched vids on reed scraping, I can't wait to have a go!

To be honest, I'll still be getting different reeds next time I go shopping because I'm far too lazy to mod every reed I use, but this should be highly educational.

The V16 reeds worked well for me when I played Dukoff mouthpieces (on all saxes) Then I changed tenor and baritone mouthpieces and the V16 was not as good as they were on my Dukoff. Now I play plasticcover 3½-4, soprano 2½, and they are great. I'm a "hard blower"!

I found Vandoren Javas to be a bit more flexible and nicer to play

That's what I'm going to try next.

I've used RJS on tenor for years now.

I quite like them but they didn't seem quite right for me. The problem with reeds is that there are so many to choose from...

I'm a "hard blower"!