1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clip on microphones

Discussion in 'Saxophones & Accessories' started by Jazzgirl, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Jazzgirl

Jazzgirl New Member

Hi guys
    I am new to the saxophone and new to this site but I was wondering whether anyone could give me advice on saxophone clip on mikes. It doesn't need to be a radio mike but I'd like one to clip on the end so I can wander about the stage a bit while I play!
    A good quality one that doesn't cost the earth would be very weelcome.

2. saxnik

saxnik Member

Check out SD Systems mics - available on sax.co.uk I think - really high quality and good sound for a reasonable price. The only reason I'm not still using mine on stage is that I now use a Shure wireless kit!
    For a cheaper option, AKG clip-on mics are pretty good, though they need Phantom power from the mixing desk, because there's no belt pack.

All of these are high-quality pro spec mics, you won't need to upgrade ever.

Hope that's helped!

Nick

3. daveysaxboy

daveysaxboy Big ruff Geordie bendy metal blower

The best around for the price is the new SAMSON WIND INSTRUMENT clip on mic.About £70.00 for the mic and you go straight in to the desk.The wireless AIRLINE SAMSON mic and receiver cost about £240.00 but just get the mic and a mic lead and your sorted for £70.There really good.Got a great sound.

4. Mamos

Mamos Member

5. daveysaxboy

That's the 1's.I use just the samson clip on mic with a mic lead to the desk in my wedding band,as do the trumpet and trombone player.My mate has the full samson airline wireless unit and the great thing about them is you only have your mic on the bell and no power pack around your waist or attached to the sax.You just clip the mic on and your free.

6. SteveK

SteveK Member